Faure Gnassingbe.jpg

H.E. Faure Essozimna Gnassingbé

President of the Togolese Republic

In 2005, HEM. Faure E. Gnassingbé was elected President of Togo, a country then marked by recurrent political dissension, an unfavourable economic context and a deleterious social state of affairs.

Soon afterwards, he initiated an in-depth project geared towards national reconciliation. He placed priority on appeasement and national cohesion. By bolstering opportunities in terms of civil liberties and dialogue, the progressive democratic process paved the way for a return to peace, security and stability.

He also strived to restore Togo's influence on the regional, continental and international scene.

He launched a series of economic reforms aimed at restoring sustainable growth, and fostering grassroots community's development and social inclusion.

In this regard, his current mandate is dedicated to accelerating growth and ensuring a better redistribution of national wealth, with a focus on a sustained improvement in governance.

For the implementation of the National Development Plan 2018-2022, officially launched on March 4th, he puts an emphasis on a radical paradigm shift in favour of a results-oriented approach to public action that is aimed at making a real impact on the lives of the people.

The government is implementing all these measures with a high degree of involvement from the private sector in order to consolidate Togo's position as the natural gateway to the vibrant West African market.

Faure E. Gnassingbé holds an MBA from George Washington University (USA) and a degree in economics and management from the University of Paris-Dauphine (France). He began his political career as a Member of Parliament in 1999 and then became a member of the government in 2003.

A discreet and reserved man, he provides his fellow citizens with opportunities for impromptu encounters far from the cameras and media coverage, to discuss their views on the life of the nation. 

Faure E. Gnassingbé was born in Afagnan (Togo) on June 6, 1966, to the late Gnassingbé Eyadéma and Sabine Mensah.