Contact Us


To receive the full agenda for The Annual Debate 2017 please complete the opposite form.



27 Hill Street
London, England, W1J 5LP
United Kingdom

The Business Council for Africa and Invest Africa’s flagship event, The Annual Debate 2018 returns 24th April for its forth edition. It has established itself as an important platform for everyone interested in and committed to African business.

The Annual Debate 2018 Programme

The Annual Debate 2018 Programme



The Law Society, 113 Chancery Lane, London WC2A 1PL

08:00   Registration

09.00   Welcome and Opening Remarks

Lanre Akinola, Editor, African Business (Chair of Proceedings)

Karen Taylor, Chief Executive Officer, Invest Africa - Business Council Africa

09:15  Presentation: The Global Economy and Insights on Investing in African Capital Markets

Alexandre Tavazzi, Global Strategist, Pictet and Company

Alain Defise, Head of Emerging Corporates, Pictet and Company

09:30   Debate: Africa's Role in the Global Economy

Rt. Hon Mark Simmonds, Chairman, Invest Africa - BCA Advisory Board (Moderator)

Kuseni Dlamini, Chairman, Massmart

Sanjeev Gupta, Executive Director, Financial Services, Africa Finance Corporation

Christopher Marks, Managing Director and Head of Emerging Markets, MUFG

Richard Morgan, Head, Government Relations, Africa, Anglo American Plc

Zemedeneh Negatu, Global Chairman, Fairfax Africa Fund

10:30   Interview: Zimbabwe: A New Dawn or More of the Same?

Alec Russell, Editor, FT Weekend

Honourable SB Moyo, Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, Zimbabwe

11:15   Break

11:45   Keynote: Building New Trade Partnerships in Africa

Rt Hon Liam Fox MP, Secretary of State for International Trade, UK Department for International Trade (UK)

12:00   Debate: Inclusive Financing in Africa

Wayne Hennessy-Barrett, Chief Executive Officer, 4G Capital (Moderator)

Ibukun Awosika, Chairman, First Bank Nigeria

Ana Hadjuka-Shields, Chief Executive Officer, Africa GreenCo

Giles Hedley, Investment Relations Officer, Barak Fund

Philippe Valahu, Chief Executive Office, Private Infrastructure Development Group

13:00   Lunch

14:00   Interview: Building New Trade Partnerships in Africa

Lanre Akinola, Editor, Africa Business

Atiku Abubakar, Former Vice President of Nigeria

14:30   Debate: Driving Africa's Industrialisation

Yvonne Ike, Managing Director, Head of Sub Saharan Africa, Bank of America Merrill Lynch (Moderator)

Richard Abadie, Global Infrastructure Leader, PwC

Tonye Cole, Co-Founder, Sahara Group

Gareth Penny, Non-Executive Chairman, Norilsk Nickel

Venkataramani Srivathsan, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Africa & Middle East, Olam

Geoffrey White, Chief Executive Officer, Agility Africa

15:30  Leaders in the Transformation of Africa's ICT Sector

Presented by: Hal Hess, President, Latin America and EMEA, American Tower Corporation

15:45  Debate: The Digital Dividend: Leveraging the Power of ICT

Douglas Rowlings, Vice President-Senior Analyst, Moody's (Moderator)

Souleymane Ba, Partner, Helios

Akinwale Goodluck, Head of Africa, GSMA

Ebele Okobi, Public Policy Director, Africa, Facebook

Hardy Pemhiwa, Group Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Econet

16:45   Break

17:15   Debate: Entrepreneurship in Africa: Beyond the Hype

Manji Cheto, Business Development Manager - Africa, London Stock Exchange Group (Moderator)

Grant Brooke, Chief Executive Officer, Twiga Foods

Joel Jackson,Chief Executive Officer & Founder, Mobius Motors

Ada Osakwe, Chief Executive Officer, Agrolay Ventures

Obi Ejimofo, Director of Operations, Asoko Insight

18:15   Closing Remarks

Lanre Akinola, Editor, African Business

18:20   Drinks Reception 

19:15  Gala Dinner


Joe Egan, President, The Law Society (Host)

Rob Hersov, Chairman and Founder, Invest Africa (Host)


Harriet Baldwin MP, Minister of State for Africa, Foreign and Commonwealth Office and DFID

Dinner Speaker - A Conversation

Rt. Hon The Lord Boateng PC DL, Baron Boateng of Akyem and Wembley

Paul Mashatile, Treasurer General, African National Congress

21:00   Carriages